Art History Buddy Scheme- Meet the Mentors 6!

Hi, I’m Anna Cruse and in September I’ll be starting my third year at Nottingham, studying for a Joint Honours degree in Art History and Classics. Having already completed two thirds of my degree, I have realised how quickly one’s time at university can fly by, and therefore wanted to become a mentor so that I can help new students to feel settled and comfortable as soon as possible, so that they can get on with enjoying their studies.

My interests as an Art History student span a variety of painterly styles and time periods, due in part to my experience of the wide ranging material covered in first year lectures. Being a classicist as well as an art historian, I am especially interested in the ways in which art is affected by classical ideals of proportion and harmony, as well as the recurring presence of Ancient Greek and Roman myth throughout art history.

As a joint honours student, I recognise that sometimes studying two different subjects at once can seem daunting, but I would love to teach new students how to get the most out of both of their Schools, whilst never needing to neglect either of them. Efficient time management and a good study regime are invaluable to any student, single or joint honours, but just as important is knowing when to give yourself a break. I took a gap year before starting university, and by the time my first year rolled around, I had more or less forgotten the definition of the word “timetable” so I understand that getting back in the swing of things isn’t always easy. But by showing students the ins and outs of the department, I hope to make this transition as smooth as possible for them.

Leave a Reply

