Art History Buddy Scheme- Meet the Mentors!

Charlotte Noakes- Robinson

I am Charlotte Noakes-Robinson, originally from Reading and am starting my third- and final-year studying Art History at the wonderful University of Nottingham. Initially what attracted me to become involved in the mentoring program, set up by Gaby and Rosie, was that in my first year I would have really appreciated someone to show me the ins and outs of the department, how to take advantage of everything we have to offer here. The transition from school to university is a tricky one and definitely puts most people alittle out of their comfort zone. We, as mentors, will be here to help you get the most out of the course and how to work at your best!

When I first came I was more interested in modern and contemporary art but now having taken some fascinating modules over the last two years my interests have changed slightly, leaning more to 15th-17th century. On arrival I had not imagined that the legacy of Leonardo da Vinci would be my dissertation subject. One of the best pieces of advice I can give you via this blog is: prepared to have your mind opened and your tastes challenged!

Looking forward to meeting you all in Week One!

Leave a Reply

